Critique Swan photos

Name
Matthew
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi,

I'm a bit of a beginner when it comes to photography. I have a Nikon D3200 with a 70-300mm zoom lens. I've been playing around with it quite a bit but sometimes I feel as though I over edit my photos when I try to touch them up a bit. Below are two photos I have taken tonight whilst on a walk round my local pond tonight and I was wondering if anyone can tell me what I should do with the photos? Is there a certain program I should use to tweak them a bit? Also I'd like to know what people think of the photos themselves without any editing.

All criticism will be taken on board! Thanks

Last edited:
I like the first with the swan against the darker, stiller water with the full reflection. The white looks nicely exposed as far as I can tell. It's easy to burn out the white especially in sun. However I would give the swan a bit more space in front instead of plonking it in the middle of the frame. You could almost certainly improve it by a touch of sharpening and contrast, and the second you might think about cloning out the post on the left. I use Paintshop Pro for pp but most seem to use Lightroom and sometimes Photoshop. It's all about what you find easiest to use. You can download any of them for a free trial period. There are lots of tutorials etc available, for LR/PS anyway. Probably for PSP too except I've grown up with it so I've never used them.

Nice composition on No2

The whites are way over exposed, I would recommend Shutter speed or Aperture priority program, then dial in some Negative exposure compensation

Les

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks for the tips I will be taking them on board, the pond is really close by to where I live so it's easy for me to practice

Thanks for the tips I will be taking them on board, the pond is really close by to where I live so it's easy for me to practice