Beginner Taking Faster shots

Name
jason
Edit My Images
Yes
Ive been using a Nikon D3200 for a couple of years now to learn photography. I have a good range of lenses, with the most expensive being a Nikon 300mm F4 prime. Others include a Nikon 50-200mm, 35mm prime and cheap Sigma 70-300mm zoom.
I really want to learn how to pan and my hobby is aviation so would love to be able to take sharp aircraft shots, hoping to get to the Mach Loop to get some of the fast jets and large transport planes coming through.
I'm wondering if its the equipment letting me down as my fast jet Airshow shots are not as good as a lot of others I see, and I really struggle to get good crisp shots of slower prop aircraft, retaining prop blur and a sharp focus.
Would a better body help me improve, maybe going for one of the more expensive Nikons (crop sensor) or am I blaming the equipment and its my techniques that are to blame?

Hi Jason

Being a Canon user I have no idea in regard to the spec of the 3200 but I have over the years used lesser spec bodies and they can limit what can be achieved. However all photography requires 'good' technique.....only then will you find the limits of the gear!

For example, my old 350D had poor AF Servo focusing. When I upgraded to the 40D it was to get improved AFServo function that aided my keeper rate of panned shots. (I have since moved on to a 5D mk3 though still have a 7D that I have not used for a good while!)

So to summarise ~ perhaps post some images of your good ones and your poor ones with theEXIF intact. That will help folk give some techniques insight. And all being well those with your 3200 can offer thoughts on its usage.

Last edited: