Tamron 55-200mm f4.0-5.6 Di II LD Macro Lens? Any good?

Edit My Images
No
I am wanting to start taking macro shots however with pretty much being a beginner I am not too sure what I should be looking at and also I don't want to be going spending a huge amount of money on one to find that either I don't like it or I'm just no good at it. I have found the Tamron mentioned in the title for £59 and was wondering if this would be any good to start off with. If not does, anyone have any suggestions for a macro lens around £150 or less for a beginner at macro photography? Cheers,

April

The lens you are talking about isn't actually a macro. It just does close focusing. You would be better off i would have thought buying some extension tubes from somewhere like jessops as they sell them. ( although probably not the cheapest)

An actual macro does 1:1 meaning life size. the right extesion tubes on a kit lens can also get you 1:1 if i remember correctly

For a macro lens, you will pick up second hand Tamron 90mm or Sigma 105mm in eBay for under £150.

For extension tubes goto OneStop Digital and get the Kenko for £65.

The Tamron 55-200mm is a good budget lens, check out slrgear.com for a review or look at pixel-peeper for photos.

Im in the exact same boat and have being researching this for a few weeks now.

It's all about compromise , if you're looking for a dedicated macro lens then the ones mentioned above will be ideal but if you're after a do-it-all lens then the 55-200 will fit the bill.

I took this with a Tamron 28-300 and while it's not a true macro shot (ie 1:1) it is good enough to keep me happy :)

kipper.jpg

Okay, thanks all for the advice. Mr Gubby, cracking shot!! I don't however have the four or five hundred pounds for that lens so I may just have to go for the Kenko. Thanks again (y) (still confused though);)