Telephoto lens advice

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi I am new to this and have just been gifted a Canon EOS550D camera and I am looking at buying a telephoto lens, I have tried a sigma DC 70-210 but the results were poor photographing a deer last evening in the field about 500 metres away I was using the automatic setting.

Without going crazy what should I be looking at zoom wise for taking pictures of wildlife from a distance of say 200-500 metres away.

I hope this makes sense.

I think that Sigma 70-210 is quite an old design so it doesn't quite live upto modern standards.
The other problem with it is that it doesn't have image stabilisation (often labelled as IS on Canon lenses, VR on Nikon, OS on Sigma and VC on Tamron lenses). Stabilisation stops minor movements, wobble and hand shake in the lens affecting the sharpness of the image.
When using a longer lens (ie more than 70mm) you need to have your shutter speed faster than a reciprocal of the lens focal length.
So, lets say you have the lens zoomed to 200mm, you need a shutter speed greater that 1/200th of a second to give you the best chance of making sure small movements of the lens don't affect the sharpness. Image stabilisation can help with this, but it's good practice to keep the shutter speed up.
The other problem with wildlife is that it moves, unless it's an animal asleep on the floor you probably need to be at 1/500th of a second to be in with a chance of freezing the animal. You'll need the shutter speed even faster if it's a deer walking or running. Best bet is to follow the deer with the lens, try to wait for it to pause for a moment, then fire the shutter.
If you were in full auto mode, the camera will have made decisions about what settings to use to get a well exposed image (ie not too bright or too dark) but it won't have known what your subject was.