The Jonny Guns - Semi Finals - GIG

Edit My Images
Yes
hi all,

take a look through the following shot from a gig I went to on Thursday.. I've been following these guys from day one, they're now in a big Battle of the Bands competition and are through to the final which is this saturday! I can't wait!!

moblog_5c74d535d5372.jpg

moblog_a55c3572d1ce4.jpg

moblog_e1839b445f09d.jpg

moblog_c7022cbd28ab6.jpg

moblog_9446877478ebd.jpg

After reading a few tips on here, I shot most on ISO 400... is this ok? I'm not happy with a lot of the photos though.. I want a faster, wider lens. Although, this is an area I have no experience in. I shoot with a Sony a100; if anyone can suggest a great little lens for this camera (for gig photography), it would be MUCH appreciated.

:)

I really like #1 & 4 in particular.

Any lens ( f2.8 or faster) is needed and loads of togs like to use the 50mm f1.8 for this kind of thing. Depends on where you can shoot from really...the closer you are, the wider the lens you can get away with. I often use my 24-70mm f2.8 L.

If using something fast though, just be careful about focusing on the face using the central AF point ...the shallow depth of field of these lenses can cause real problems....bands are not renowned for standing still!!

I think they're pretty cool and show that you know what you're doing. There's nothing there that says you need a faster or wider lens to improve. 1st one's probably the best, but its a marginal choice.

The first shot really stands out for me.

So many things in this image catch my eye.

I love the way the lines of the ceiling seem to radiate out giving me the sensation that the image is coming straight at me.

The strong light partially obscuring the detail of the drums, the energy in the (bass?) guitarist's pose and bit of motion caught on him and in the background on the guy using a tambourine(?)

Lastly I love the gritty dirty look of the floor which ties in well with the gritty feel of the shot.