Tips on Macro Flash?

grumpybadger

Alan Rickman
Name
Paul Beastall
Edit My Images
Yes
I've now got a macro lens and it is something I've never done before.

Any tips on lighting at all? I have a pair of 550EX flashguns I can use...

Do I need to make/get diffusers or anything like that?

Thanks

Paul

Paul,

I've just picked up a second 550 to use in the way you're maybe aiming...or looking to aim. I use an MT-24 for short working distances but find them a little too close when using the 180 at 50cm or more. I've picked up a Manfrotto 330B dual flash bracket to mount them on and this separates them nicely.
As far as diffusers go....I've got Stofens for each one and find that a bit of kitchen roll paper stuff inside adds a little more softness. I'm not sure what you're trigger will be but I've got an ST-E2 to remove the chance of getting cables tangled in the twigs.

I'll pass on anything I learn when I have had a chance to become better aquainted with the setup.

Bob

Thanks for the tip Bob. I have an ST-E2, so that sounds perfect. The Manfrotto bracket looks good. I'm hoping to have a play tomorrow if the weather is good and then will work out if I think the bracket will help.

I'll be using a Sigma 150 so probably a similar experience to your 180

I think some form of diffuser is essential for flash macro shots Paul. I used this setup for a while - 580EX and Lightsphere with the 180 macro.

4336_1763906693462e2380dca34.jpg

I now have the MT24, which is a great bit of kit, if not a little harsh. I've just added 2 mini Stofen diffusers to the MT 24, but have yet to use them in anger

I now have the MT24, which is a great bit of kit, if not a little harsh. I've just added 2 mini Stofen diffusers to the MT 24, but have yet to use them in anger

CT.....I have the mini-Stofen's on my MT-24 but still find it can be a little too artificial....especially when there's no real natural light and the power's turned up. Putting some Andrex in behind them does help.