to scan or not to scan

DSJ

Name
David
Edit My Images
No
Hello.

I'm an absolute beginner at this. I have a Yashica 124g. I have rolls of 120 film I need to develop.

Because I'm just starting out I was going to leave everything to the lab...but then I saw how much it's going to cost.

How does everyone else here manage? Would love to know how you approach this.

I have been told to try Peak Imaging and yes, they are quite reasonable. But I am not sure how to proceed.

What would you chaps suggest? Remembering these are my first rolls so will probably be bad (light, composition, camera shake, everything)
ask Peak to develop&scan, then decide if I want to print any?
or just develop and then scan myself? I asked on another forum something similar and everyone seemed dead against scanning myself - that it was a tedious and time consuming process.

This might sound like a dumb question and it probably is but . .. : does a print from a negative look that different than a print from a scanned image?

In this digital age I wanted to get back to basics, i love the look of MF photos on Instagram for example...but I am already asking about how to digitise my photographs so I can share / send / post them. Am i destroying the qualities I admire so much in MF photography by scanning them? (Of course, the ones I have seen online are amazing, but they have also been through the scanner and they look so rich, subtle, layered - exactly why I bought the Yashica in the first place.

Thank you in advance for any advice.

DSJ

If these are your first rolls, I would probably ask Peak to develop and scan, providing you've looked at the cost / time factor of developing your own verses Peak doing it for you, and if you need to buy any kit to do the process, presuming you have a satisfactory scanner also to hand.