Tokina 16-28 and other similar priced wide angle lenses

Name
Graham
Edit My Images
No
I've been thinking about getting a really nice wide angle lens to compliment my new D700.
I am quite taken with the Tokina 16-28. Has anyone had any experiences with this lens/or own one? I've read several reviews which certainly paint it in a good light but I find its best to find out from people who have used it day in, day out.
Also if there's any other lens that anyone thinks could be an option then please feel free to add your two cents as this is my first time owning a full frame body so a lot of the options that are out there are new to me.

Any advice and/or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Graham

This may not be helpful so I apologise in advance, but I've 3 Tokina's that I use on my Canon bodies, a 20-35, a 80-400 and just bought a 28-70. The build quality on all three is superb, especially the 28-70. All are very sharp stepped down and pretty good wide open. Main problem I've found is CA which Tokina do have a reputation for but with the latest LR I've found it very easy to correct.

They are generally heavy lenses due to the metal construction which I like by you may not. I'm using them on 1D bodies normally and they balance well.

I've also found they are generally good value 2nd hand compared to SIgma and OE lenses.

Sorry I can't help you on the 16-28 in particular though.

A

This may not be helpful so I apologise in advance, but I've 3 Tokina's that I use on my Canon bodies, a 20-35, a 80-400 and just bought a 28-70. The build quality on all three is superb, especially the 28-70. All are very sharp stepped down and pretty good wide open. Main problem I've found is CA which Tokina do have a reputation for but with the latest LR I've found it very easy to correct.

They are generally heavy lenses due to the metal construction which I like by you may not. I'm using them on 1D bodies normally and they balance well.