Tripod on Flight?

Name
Derek
Edit My Images
Yes
Anyone know what the deal is with taking a compact tripod (16") strapped to the side of a camera bag onto a flight? Is it allowed? Does it vary with the carrier and/or security? I've never tried it before so don't have a clue...... TIA

I've always put mine in the suitcase to avoid any issues. My son got stopped trying to take a tennis racket on once

Last edited:
I've always put mine in the suitcase to avoid any issues. My son got stopped trying to take a tennis racket on once

Yeah, probably the best plan, but was just curious..... I don't imagine any other camera gear is an issue, as no way is it going in hold luggage!

I’ve done both taken one on my bag and in my case, I’ve taken my befree strapped to my bag on many flights without my issues

I do not often take my tripod but when as needed I have, like you, put it it in the suitcase.

I do not often take my tripod but when as needed I have, like you, put it it in the suitcase.
It's got a lot worse lately with people taking huge cases on as carry on.
I have enough trouble with my carry on camera bag in the overhead locker as many times I've had someone with a huge carry on bag trying to squash my bag, or worse take mine out to fit theirs in. Not sure I'd like a vulnerable tripod on the outside of my camera bag.

It's got a lot worse lately with people taking huge cases on as carry on.
I have enough trouble with my carry on camera bag in the overhead locker as many times I've had someone with a huge carry on bag trying to squash my bag, or worse take mine out to fit theirs in. Not sure I'd like a vulnerable tripod on the outside of my camera bag.

Don't they have a size limit, some people are unbelievable, cheeky bleeders

Last edited:
Don't they have a size limit, some people are unbelievable, cheeky bleeders