Tripod question

Name
john
Edit My Images
Yes
Just looking for sugestions if anyone else has had this problem. Many years ago i only shot wildlife with heavy lenses so i invested in a gitzo 6x carbon fibre tripod three sections.
I have since sold all the heavy stuff and am now getting interested in landscape photography and trying to keep things to a minimum as i am only a hobbyist and have to watch the pennies.
I am presently using the gitzo with a kirk bh1 ballhead and i find it a heavy combination .When hiking i have to carry the tripod as it is a bit too long(three legs) to fit securely on my 400 flipside backpack. I have tried several ways of attaching it but it never seems secure . The tripod and head weigh at 6 lbs .Although i consider myself to be fairly fit i am looking for a way to lighten the weight.
Has anyone else had same problem and if so what was the outcome. I also have a giottos aluminium tripod that is shorter and fits better ,but is heavier still. The ballhead weighs st 2 lbs on its own.

The current Gitzo Travelers are light, rigid, extend high and collapse small. You can also buy them as kits with matching lightweight heads. But at current prices they won't help with watching the pennies...

I use feisol CT-3342 with a markins Q3i ballhead with quick release lever.
The whole this is very light and excellent. While I love my feisol since the folded length is 59cm I can't take it on planes. So I am currently looking to swap for a feisol CT-3442 which is pretty much the same as my CT-3342 except it has 4 sections vs. 3 sections so folds down to 48cm which can go on planes.

My plane journeys aside, the feisol tournament tripods i.e. CT-3342/3442 are the only two I have found that are light, give a very good height without central column, wide diameter legs which all makes it very good for stability over all.