Tripod upgrade - thoughts?

Edit My Images
No
Folks

I really, really, need to replace my tripod. I've been using a Slik 88 since around 1982 but in recent years have more or less stopped carrying it because of its weight and sheer bloody awkwardness in use - trapped fingers and being poked in the eye by the panning handle being just the most obvious problems.

Proposed use of replacement:

Landscapes
Macro
Still Life
Architecture
Portraits (?)

I don't photograph anything which moves very fast, ie sport or other action. I'm undecided whether I would take this tripod on a long-haul holiday as I wouldn't put an expensive piece of kit in the aircraft hold and I'm not sure it would sneak in as hand luggage what with the rest of my kit. There would be no problems about taking it in the car, eg over to France, however.

I'm looking at the Manfrotto 190 MF3 or MF4 and the 460 MG head. This is a 3-way head but has no handles to poke you in the eye, so you can get closer to the viewfinder, and is released and locked by neat but chunky twisty knobs. It also doesn't, afaics, have a full complement of spirit levels but I'm not sure that is going to be a significant problem. Head here: http://www.manfrotto.com/Jahia/site/manfrotto/cache/offonce/pid/2332?livid=80&lsf=80&child=1

Total weight for 90 MF3 or MF4 and the 460 MG headjust is over 2kg. The maximum bearing weight for the 190 MG legs is 4kg and the maximum total load would be 0.5kg for the head + camera, lens, flash etc.

Looking at the kit I have and am likely to upgrade to in the next few years I can't see the kit load on the tripod as being more than 3.5kg, so with 0.5kg for the 460 MG head this works out OK as I really don't see me needing to support a 500mm anything, nor a 80-200mm 2.8 in the near future.

The 055 MF 3 or 4 does appeal, but the additional weight (0.4kg) may be an issue.