Trouble with Fish

Edit My Images
Yes
Could anybody help, i'm relatively new to photography and I keep Koi and have been taking photos of them for a while but i never seem to do them justice, every picture just seems to say Oh yes it's a Koi, can anybody give me a few pointers or tips to try and bring them to life.

Dave:bonk:

koi.jpg

do you use a polarizer filter?
would get rid of the reflections

Are they all in a pond - or could you put them in a glass tank for photography? I could give you some pointers then.

I did use a polarized filter but probably didn't use it to full effect, I’ve also tried taking the photos just above water level but the little bleeders just swim off, if I throw in food it's as though they haven’t been feed for weeks and I just get a picture full of blur and movement.

AWP thanks for the comment about the glass tank but the smallest fish i have is about 3lb in weight and the biggest is 8lb, i don't have a tank big enough to house them.

ah! pity - because if you could 'get down to their level' i.e. through the glass then it all gets easier - you can light from the top with diffused flash and the sand/gravel underneath reflects enough back to fill in the belly. It's always going to be difficult shooting down on them - not the best angle - as you've discovered - hard to light - and you have diffraction problems as the light passes through the water as well.

It's extremely hard to take shots of fish in a pond due to diffraction making them look very flat and less 3 dimensional. You may find the only way to get around the boring images are to make good use of other elements for the image composition. Try to focus not just on fish but other related elements which you think may add some interest. As always, best way to take images of fish is through glass, going to their level and/or as StuartH (above) recommended, get a wetsuit and an underwater housing for camera which usually cost bombs.