trying to chose a new lens

Name
Paul
Edit My Images
No
Im still quite new to the whole digital SLR thing and i could do with some advice on buying a new lens. At the moment I've got a canon 350D with the 18-55mm kit lens.

I'm looking for a zoom lens to use for surfing photos and also to take travelling.

It has been suggested that a sigma 28-300 lens might be a good option, but I have also heard that it isn't very good for wider angle shots, and also at full 300mm length I would need to use a tripod which i dont really want to have to do.

Should i be looking for maybe an 18-200mm lens to do the lot, or a 55-200 lens and keep both lenses?

A few choices that jessops have is:

Sigma 55-200mm f/4-5.6 DC (Canon AF)
Canon EF 55-200mm F4.5/5.6 MK2 USM
Tamron 55-200mm f/4-5.6 Di II LD Macro (Canon AF)

Sigma 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 DC Lens (Canon AF)

Tamron 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 XR DI (Canon AF)
Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro (Canon AF)

Any advice on these lenses would be greatly appreciated.

All those lenses are slow at the telephoto end, its allways difficult to recommend a lens, even for a given subject, when the recipient requires it to do everything.
These lenses make sacrifices to cover a larger range and wont be great at every length.
If you want a do-it-all lens thats fine..personally, they just disappoint me one way or another.

My advice is to buy a telephoto for long shots and a wide angle for wide angle shots, both can be zoom lenses but try to keep them constant apperture.
Camera bodys are disposable, they come they go, the real investment is in the glass that you buy, dont think for one second a lens is a lens is a lens, it isn't, the expensive ones are expensive for a reason.

You will need a tripod, especially for a slow lens, but even that cannot stop motion blur in a surf shot.