trying to figure out lenses

Name
Chris
Edit My Images
No
hi there, i am new to photography, but want to take this up as a hobby and hopefully buy myself a dslr sometime soon but anm trying to learn as much as possible before hand. i have been trying to figure a few things out about lenses. if someone could either point me in the right direction to online material (in dummy terms, cant understand all the big words :LOL: ) or if you could answer a couple of the below questions.

1. how far can a lens zoom in? i.e 18-55mm / 70-300mm ?

2. what is classed as a wide angle lens, and what does this do? are these more commonly used for landscapes?

3. what size of lens is generally used for everyday walkabout?

hope someone can help or point me in the right direction. it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

hi there, i am new to photography, but want to take this up as a hobby and hopefully buy myself a dslr sometime soon but anm trying to learn as much as possible before hand. i have been trying to figure a few things out about lenses. if someone could either point me in the right direction to online material (in dummy terms, cant understand all the big words :LOL: ) or if you could answer a couple of the below questions.

1. how far can a lens zoom in? i.e 18-55mm / 70-300mm ?
depend how much you want to spend but 70-200, 70-300, 100-400 are not uncommon

2. what is classed as a wide angle lens, and what does this do? are these more commonly used for landscapes?
anything less than 50mm is classed as wide angle, about 50mm is what the human eye sees

3. what size of lens is generally used for everyday walkabout?
18-70 is probably more of an everyday lens but for more vesatility something like 18-135 or 18-200 would be better, but are usually more expensive

hope someone can help or point me in the right direction. it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

hope that helps

its all about cutting down the angle of view - how much of a scene gets into the camera.