Ultra Wide lenses for Nikon FX cameras

Name
Geoff Blackmore
Edit My Images
Yes
As an avid photographer I have used an 8mm Fisheye on old DX cameras unfortunately I have upgraded to FX so now have a conventional fisheye rather than a ultra wide with a Peculiar perspective. I am obviously now trying to workout where to go with my need for new lenses. I don't think I need to go down to 12mm, but I do like the look of the 17-35 and 18-35mm obviously f2.8 is nice. Currently I have the old D lenses from 35mm - 200mm covered at f2.8 because I often shoot later in the evening. Any suggestions and pointers would be greatly appreciated.

I use an Irix 15mm f2.4 on my D750 and love what it can do.
It's a manual focus lens but has 'rectilinear correction'(?) so you can get natural verticals rather than the distortion you see from non-corrected lenses. Some samples from my Flickr album ...

Flickr Album

Thanks for the advice Gramps that's similar to the perspective I used to get with my Samyang 8mm when on my old D50 through to my D90.
I have a collection of Church interiors and exteriors and that's the one thing I am unable to do at present as religious architecture is a thing common across Europe with many variations by regions within the countys and country's. I also love the perspective in many urban scenes remeniscent of you pics of canal basins and Docks.

The Sigma 8mm fisheye gives a full 180°field of view as a circular image on FF. Their 12-24 UWA zoom gives a very well corrected (as far as rectilinear distortion goes) image but there are reports of dodgy examples so try before you buy.

I have a collection of Church interiors and exteriors and that's the one thing I am unable to do at present

I have a feeling (one of my golf buddies works at the local cathedral) that they'll be open pretty soon.

I've had the lot and the only two decent UWA I have found are

1, The Nikkor 20mm F1.8
2. The 14-24 F2.8