Urgent advice needed..I might get eaten!

Name
Phil
Edit My Images
Yes
OK, here's the story.
I managed to negotiate myself a week all to myself in the highlands starting from 30th July. Unfortunatley to do this I had to pay for the families Carribbean Cruise at the same time, scuppers any thoughts of a 5D11 and 24-70 for the next few years!

Anyway. If I am staying in Hotels I need to book real quick to be sure of a room. But, I rather fancy camping. Not done it since 1990 when I graduated. That was also in the highlands and it was magical.

However!! I am highly attractive to anything with 6 legs and bites. I would want to to stay near Ullapool, Torridon or Skye. Am I being stupid even thinking about camping?

Your not being stupid, it's stunning countryside, but you might get eaten alive by midges. I seem to be immune after 30 odd years of exposure to African mosquitoes but a lot of people dread them. There were some tips on repellents on a thread recently, and someone is bound to remember what was recommended.

One other thought. Camping is great in good weather, not so great when it's raining, and this is Scotland....................Have a Plan B?

Thanks for reply. I haven't been camping for a long time but I used to go a lot. I like the sound of rain on a tent (yes I know it's odd) and I would invest in a good one.

I have been browsing and there are some nice tents that look midge repellent (hmmm) and smidge looks a good product. Thinking if I get the tent I can actually do some real island hopping which I have never done before.

God has not designed a tent which will keep the dreaded 'midge' at bay

however...i flyfish ..the only effective one for me is 'AVON' 'skin-so-soft'

of course sleeping in the car is a last resort...:D

also there is a 'natural' repellant [ herbal..?] which you can spray all over the midge net in the tent doorway as well

Last edited: