Use of Vintage Lenses Help .

Name
john
Edit My Images
Yes
I am looking for advice regarding the use of Vintage Lenses and adapters to fit my om1 MFT body.
I have been watching a few Yu tube videos on the subject and wish to try it out for myself.90% of the time i shoot in Monochrome/BW and as im not good at processing and i mainly shoot jpg.
I am totally clueless on what size lens or fitting ,but am leaning to the smaller fast vintage Primes. My photography is varied and ill shoot anything that interests me at all.So i am not limited to any particular subject.All i know is that special adapters are needed to take the old fittings.
As i only shoot in BW i am not looking for perfectly pin sharp images but lenese that would be better suited to my type of Photography.Hope this all makes sense. Thank You.

Well, the good news is that with an adapter the world is your oyster. If you want the widest range of lenses to play with I would recommend the M42 - M 4/3 adapter. But you must be aware that you're talking manual focus here.

Last edited:
You need an adapter which in its description goes from the lens to the camera. If you follow my meaning. For example Olympus Zuiko (lens) to Micro Four Thirds (camera.) There are loads of adapters for just about everything on ebay.

There are also some new modern manual focus lenses available in MFT mount, so you wont need an adapter. For example here...

I have quite a few manual film era lenses but keep in mind that the field of view is subject to the crop factor (x2 for MFT) so a 50mm lens looks like a 100mm lens when mounted on a MFT camera.

Last edited:
Almost any of the OM series of prime lenses would suit you although there was a question mark over the early 28mm/F3.5. The F2,8 versions were fine. Some of the lenses suffered from sticking diaphragm blades where they would be slow to open or close or both. A service was enough to sort this out.