Using high ISO film at high speeds - any IQ issues likely?

Name
Andy
Edit My Images
Yes
First off, my apologies if this question is a little naive, but I couldn't seem to find much info on this elsewhere and I'm pretty new to 35mm film :(.

I went out today with a camera loaded with b&w ISO 1600 (Fuji) film, with the intention of shooting mostly indoors, or in shady areas (lighting-wise :D) around the city. In the end, although the sky was grim and overcast, most of the exposures that I made were out in the street, where the F stop that I wanted to use for subject isolation was giving me shutter speeds over the 1/1000th mark (in some cases).

What I would like to know is; is there going to be an issue with image quality (apart from the obvious graininess associated with ISO 1600 film), by shooting 'fast' film at such fast speeds :shrug:?

It strikes me that the main purpose of this film is to suck whatever detail it can out of dimly lit situations, at 'normal' speeds, rather than to offer blisteringly fast shutter speeds in broad daylight :thinking:. So, I'll find out anyway in a week or so, but to save me from wasting the rest of the roll, I'd like to know what the experts think: Am I 'wasting' this film by shooting it this way (where ISO 400 would do just as well) and (more importantly) will the shots come out OK when using it this way :|?

Thanks in advance for all input (y)!