Venturing into developing my B&W films myself

Name
jo
Edit My Images
Yes
I'm just getting into B&W film photography, sent my first film to the lab for developing, printing and scanning, I know I could lower the costs by not ordering the prints, but alas sca's seem to be Jpeg, and if you want high resolution then it still remains costly. So hubby is encouraging me to develop myself etc.

Even though I do really want to, I don't think I'm ready to go for the full darkroom, enlarger route quite yet so I'm looking at starting off developing then scaning

The suppliers I will use, is going to be Firstcall photography as I can arranged to collect due to being near.

They do a couple of beginner's kits

Cheapest is £40, with chemicals that can develop 10 films,

- a Paterson Universal two film tank with two spirals
- a thermometer
- a 25 ml measuring cylinder
- 100 ml of ADONAL film developer
- 100 ml of ADOFIX Fixer
- 50 ml of ADOLFO wetting agent
- an exposed film to rehearse the film spooling process

Next is two other kits,

next up, you get the kit for both developing and printing, various tongs and trays etc but no chemicals

then they have one more expensive again, but has safelight etc

I do attend to buy a scanner, 3 options I looking at are

Plustek 8100 or the 8200i (the later I'm thinking about the hoards of b&w/Colour negatives from my parents photograph negatives I inherited possible scanning/restoring and sharing with my siblings)

or the epson V600 (I'd prefer the V800, but cost puts me off)

The other option I've got is to

Purchase the basics, plus things like changing bag (easier than sorting out a darkroom affair) and getting separate chemicals

But what would be a good chemical for developing the ifford HP5 film.