Views on the Nikon 14-24mm f2.8 Lens

Name
Barry
Edit My Images
No
The only "landscape" lens I have at the minute is the Nikon 24-70mm f2.8 and I am interested in the Nikon 14-24mm f2.8 and wondered what others views were on this lens.

I know from reading about it that it is an exceptional lens but my concern in buying it is the thought of having to buy a whole new set of Lee filters which are far from cheap. There also appears to be no "Big Stopper" or polariser for this lens. How do you get on with the lack of filters for this lens?

Any help or advice at all would be most welcome.

I brought a copy of this lens from this forum a few weeks ago. I can't offer an opinion on filters, but things it's a wonderful lens.
The variety of situations it can be used in is very freeing. I am only a hobbyist, but really impressed by the results in combo with
a D700.

Here is a bunch taken inside Hornsey Town hall, hand held.

( Any distortion is because i couldn't be bothered to correct in PP )

[url=https://flic.kr/p/rTzj2L]

Inside Haringey Town Hall by sean azzopardi, on Flickr[/URL]

It is a brilliant lens with great image quality but needs care in use both to protect its bulbous front lens and in trying to avoid the inevitable distortion and to some extent flare. As you say filters for it are expensive, the Lee Kit including holder and one filter is eye-watering but the biggest problem is that so few filters are available.
If you are not going to need many filters then it is fine, though a recent post here from Stewart, (Lens Hire Co), highlighted the high number of these lenses he has had to send for repair!
If you are planning to be using a lot of filters you might want to look at the 16-35 but I would advise trying before you buy as there have been some copies that were not as good as the majority :)

Reactions: ST4