Vole Lower Jaw Bone

Edit My Images
Yes
Dissected an owl pellet this afternoon and remove the lower jaw bone from what I think will be a Field Vole

Taken with a 70-300mm @165mm , 1 sec, f36, ISO 200 with a Raynox 250 fitted on the front, naturally lit

Far from perfect, posted more for interest but I'm happy for any tips to improve on the shot

jaw 2 1024.jpg

Nothing wrong with that one IMO, Phil. It is well exposed, sharp and a good record of an interesting object. I'm not an expert but I reckon your ID is correct, though I was confused until I realised the front of the jaw bone is on the right.

Dave

Nothing wrong with that one IMO, Phil. It is well exposed, sharp and a good record of an interesting object. I'm not an expert but I reckon your ID is correct, though I was confused until I realised the front of the jaw bone is on the right.

Dave

Thanks Dave, I think if I have another go some better lighting wouldn't go a miss........ if I keep looking I might end up with nearly a full skeleton :D

:D indeed, good luck :). Although the pellets are regurgitated the skeletons on the unwilling participants tend to get a bit mangled, but owl pellets are fascinating.

Dave

owl pellets are fascinating

I've been having a rummage through them on the off chance I night find a small bird ID ring, I've read its possible and thought it would be interesting but nothing yet..............I've been told more than once I could do with another hobby :D

Don't listen too 'em bro it's furpectly natural to want rip owl pellets apart who wouldn't,folks are strange these days.Mate I am so out of my depth I don't know what to offer regarding the image,sort of got me hooked though for the whole skeleton:whistle:. I also figure it might slow ya down a bit and give me chance to catch up but that ain't gonna happen.:D

Interesting Phil really is i'm hoping others will follow this with actual advice / tips.............. tis all interesting mate