Waddington airshow

Name
Graham
Edit My Images
Yes
I am thinking of going to the airshow this year for the first time.

Any tips regarding where to stand, or in one of the enclosures would be appreciated.

Graham

But the sun only moves round to crowd side later in the day

whitevanman said:
Are you saying that you are shooting into the sun for most of the day?

Yes, I have been there of two consecutive years now. Going again this year, weather permitting :).

The Sun does blaze on your face most of the morning and @ 45deg angle later in the noon. But it didn't stop me from photographing (an experienced togger next to me did advise to increase exp comp. to +0.7-1 for capturing dark coloured planes in the morning. Being a newbie, I am still learning though)

Other tips -
1. We got in really early to get rope-line spots. Does get really busy later.
2. Don't forget your sunscreen, sunglasses, and hat. We got burnt like mad first year.

Yes, I have been there of two consecutive years now. Going again this year, weather permitting :).

The Sun does blaze on your face most of the morning and @ 45deg angle later in the noon. But it didn't stop me from photographing (an experienced togger next to me did advise to increase exp comp. to +0.7-1 for capturing dark coloured planes in the morning. Being a newbie, I am still learning though)

Other tips -
1. We got in really early to get rope-line spots. Does get really busy later.
2. Don't forget your sunscreen, sunglasses, and hat. We got burnt like mad first year.

Cheers for that (y)

I'm heading there for the first time this year myself as well and will be going both days. Hopefully the bad weather will have gone by then, i've already missed 3 airshows because of the forcasts!

Anyone know how good the rope line is for taxi shots?

Looking forward to Waddington. Weather looks set to be sunny

Any advice for shooting air display on sunny day? Taking my 70-300 Nikon for flying aircraft