WARNING MAY DISTURB: The other side of Donna Nook

A harsh photo, but thats life.

It's a good photo. Not one I'd hang on the wall, but good and gritty

I really like that shot, maybe the post above re interference makes it more poignant.

Nice shot. I have a similar shot of a dead seal taken on a Galapagos island, it happens in paradise too. I have not visited Donna Nook, not sure why, not a long hop from Leeds when I lived there. But I have seen shots of people, not just togs, wandering thorugh the seals. It is time to limit the paths and police the breeding grounds, in the same way they do on Galapagos...marked paths and the guide watching. Of course the seals there are more robust and less likely to leave a pup because of the strange two legged things....but makes you wonder.

Puffin numbers are down on Farne, is it the fishing or the fact we turn up in drives to shoot them? Me thinks a mixture of the two.

I'm currently studying the seals at Donna Nook, I've been at the colony for the last 3 weeks and will be there for 2 more. I am familiar with this particular dead pup on the outer colony, its been there about a week and its a popular subject for the photographers. It is a nice shot.

Unfortunatly I cannot agree that this shot reflects the harshness of nature taking its toll, as this is one of many pups on the outer colony that have died due to interference form photographers. The pup mortality on this area is much higher than any other area in the donna nook colony, and the national trust warden (whom I work with) and I am both saddened and frustrated by this growing problem.

I am sure that photographers visiting the outer colony at the weekends do not mean to harm the seals there but many go far too close, scaring the mothers off pups so they can take close ups of them.