Warrington Horse Show

CJR

Name
Cathy
Edit My Images
Yes
First attempts at photographing showjumping.

Manually focused on the middle of the jumps, and then waited until hopefully the right moment to press the shutter. With hindsight, I think I should have metered off a horse and rider beforehand, and then used manual rather than Av priority, as the contrast of dark horse/rider against the bright sky was a bit problematic.

IMG_9422.jpg

IMG_9424.jpg

IMG_9469.jpg

Any C&C appreciated, as always.

Thanks.

Cathy

They are not that bad for first time, like you say, the 2nd is a bit ropey exposure wise, though some twiddling in processing might help, but they are sharp and capture the action well. :clap:
ONly really done showjumping once before but I found manual exposure settings and autofocus easiest rather than the other way round, but I am no expert [though again I find that best for me with racing cars too and I have done a lot more of that] There are several experienced horse togs here that might be able to give you better hint and tips for next time ;)

Great stuff! You obviously were allowed into the arena which has allowed that great angle. I found last weeked with all the white I was better to shoot auto-exposure with a 2/3rd stop underread dialled in.

Great stuff! You obviously were allowed into the arena which has allowed that great angle. I found last weeked with all the white I was better to shoot auto-exposure with a 2/3rd stop underread dialled in.

Thanks very much! No, I wasn't in the arena, just sat on the grass almost under the rope barrier between the arena and the spectator area. There were several showjumping competitions going on simultaneously, in adjacent arenas, which limted where I could go; this arena only had two edges where we could stand, and only a couple of jumps where the horses were going in the right direction to be photographed.