Beginner Wedding - canon 6 d lens

Name
Danielle
Edit My Images
No
Hey can someone urgently help me some advice as I feel I’m drowning on the internet!!

I’m a novice really but have been asked to do friend of my partners wedding. I bought an 18-55 mm lens for my canon 6 d mark ii and it was the wrong fit and then I discovered that I wasn’t able to get that lens for my camera.

My question is what is the best standard lens I could use for a wedding? For a canon 6d mark ii any help and advice would be greatly appreciated :)

Thank you

Danielle

A standard range zoom would be a 24 or 28-70mm. At the cheaper end they come as 28-70mm f3.5-5.6. Moving up the price scale you can have a 24 or 28-70mm f2.8 or f4.

Personally I'd go for a 35mm f1.8 but really... do you want to do this? What will happen if they're not happy with the pictures you take? Will you potentially fall out over this? Maybe the best thing to do would be to politely point them at a pro wedding photographer and you shoot the day for fun and chip in the odd photo they might like?

are you going to be the main photographer?I would suggest if you got the wrong lens and don't know which one to use for your camera then don't do the weddings as you don't seem to be experienced enogh. A wedding is a get it right at the time event no going back for a retake. IF you don't have the right equipment and a backup camera and lenses then politely decline. That would be my advice

Last edited: