wedding photography advice

Jellycat

clever little wings..
Name
Lyn
Edit My Images
Yes
Ok so you’ve probably heard this all before, Im just starting out doing wedding photography. I’ve done about 15 weddings now for friends, family & friends of friends its starting to take off for me but im after some advice.

1) I always shoot in M mode but have heard a lot of “pros” saying they shoot in P, S or A mode – what would you recommend & why?

2) To keep both the bride and groom in focus ive been using f5.6 and focusing on one of their faces but sometimes the other seems out of focus especially if they are standing groom behind bride for example . Where would you recommend I set the focus point.

3) I hate bright sunny days, give me an overcast day any day but we cant control the weather (although im currently working on this lol). How do you cope with bright light blowing the dress/faces out when you cant move them into shade.

Any other advice is most welcome although please non of the “you should leave wedding photography to the professionals” as we all have to start somewhere. I take this all very seriously and im trying to improve my photography that’s why im asking these questions.

I've only done two as a 2nd photographer so no where near experienced enough to give a proper answer... however... I made sure for the majority of the shots I focused on the brides face.

I dare say someone will give you a proper answer though.

I shoot about 99% in M and will use Av if there is something up with the lighting constantly changing and I'm working on a series of shots but honestly that is really rare. I really can't imagine any pro who works creatively using P. I know some who love using Av and constantly play with exposure compensation, but that's about it. If my wife 2nd shoots, I set her up in Av as she doesn't have the skills yet to play around and it will get the exposure close enough for me to fix. I like to nail exposure as it reduces my edit time so M is king.