Wedding photography tips?

Name
Will
Edit My Images
No
Hi,

:help: So I've just been told I am photographing my aunt's wedding as they don't have an official photographer. :wacky:

Anyway - I was just wondering if anyone has any tips in the field?
I've never done anything like this and I'm a wildlife photographer!

I have a Nikon 18-135mm, Nikon 80-200mm f/2.8, Nikon 200-400mm f/4G VR II, and SB-900 speedlight.

I know I won't need the telephoto, but what lenses are normal wedding lenses? And do I need the flashgun? And other tips! What shots to take etc.

:bang:

EDIT: Wedding photographers - is this a good lens to hire for the day? http://www.lensesforhire.co.uk/nikon-af-s-35mm-f14-g-249-p.asp

Last edited:
My 80-200 is a lens that gets a huge amount of use for weddings, a fantastic piece of kit. The 18-135, although not ideal in low light is actually tack sharp, so you should be ok with what you've got, although on a D700 you're only going to get around 5MP on that particular lens if mounting on the D700. Get yourself a 50 1.8 or a 35 f/2 and along with the longer reach, I reckon you'll be more than alright in a non pressure environment such as this (assuming they're not paying you!).

I'm just impressed that a 16 year old has a 200-400 f4 to play with! LOL you lucky boy you!

Big job, lots of responsibility, how far off is the wedding, is it first or 2nd wedding as that can take some pressure off (not always)?

I would work with the 18-135 on the D80 and the 80-200 on the D700 and hope the venue isn't dark otherwise you are stuck not having a wide f2.8 or faster for the D700.

So much else to think of like posing, people control, working through fast changing light conditions etc etc. I'm sure others will chip in so will not go into anything else for now (mainly as it is time to sleep) but hope it goes well!

Last thing, you've got some impressive shots on your site, hope you can convert from wildlife to people :)