Well its finally happened...Wedding no 1!

Name
Danny
Edit My Images
Yes
So its finally happened - friend of the family have asked me to photograph their sons wedding in October. Small, inexpensive affair. I have agreed to do it and ensured that the are aware that i am only a beginner.

I have read through a lot of the tips here and got some great advice. Just wanted to run through a couple of things.

1. Charge - they want to pay me for this - it will be a full day affair and int the evening and then there is the editing - I was thinking £150?

2. Kit. I have a Canon 550D, 18-55mm lens, 50mm prime f1.8, Jessops AFD360 Flashgun. Should I look to hire a 70-200mm f2.8 lens as well or will the above mentioned kit be enough?

Im ok with the composition of the shots - just wanted some advice on he above and anything else I might need to know. I will be the only photographer on the day so ant to do the best job I can with the skills I have.

Thanks all.

With the money you are charging I wouldn't spend on hiring. The couple obviously don't consider the photography the best part of their wedding, which is fair enough and no offence to you. Just do the best you can within the limits of your kit.

I agree. No point in renting. Even from lensesforhire on a 3 day rate (minimal rental), thats £49 so leaving you with around £100 left profit.

My worry is if its going to be in a church, if they do not allow flash during the ceremony etc, you will have a hard time getting a good keeper rate. Since you have an external flash, I would recommend ensuring you have enough batteries and know how to bounce flash to get the best out of it.

Teshi said:
I agree. No point in renting. Even from lensesforhire on a 3 day rate (minimal rental), thats £49 so leaving you with around £100 left profit.