What am I doing wrong? Pictures lack the "wow" factor.

Edit My Images
Yes
I took a number of pictures this morning of my son ready for Christmas cards and while they are nice pictures, I feel they really lack the wow factor that I see on these forums.

I appreciate I am a beginner but I'd like to open myself up to criticism and advice to make myself a better photographer.

So, do your worst :)

Note that I placed a desk lamp to the left of my son to add some extra light but this may not necessarily have helped matters. These were shot as RAW and are straight out of the camera.

Edit: these were shot with a 60D using a Tamron 17-50mm non-vc lens at f2.8.

Harry as a reindeer:

IMG_0124.jpg

Harry eating Sophie:

IMG_0185.jpg

Last edited:
RAW files need processing, sure that would make a big difference and the photos you see on here will i'm sure have received that treatment

You can use ACR which is found in Photoshop, Elements and Lightroom, alternatively use DPP which should have come with your camera

Look upon RAW as the negative and post processing as developing, they are not designed to be straight from the camera

Last edited:
Try more interesting compositions - rule of thirds, for example, or focus on detail like a close up of his eye or something. Experiment with depth of field by going close in with a large aperture. Do you use post-processing? Try photoshop elements to boost the contrast, saturation etc (go easy though).

Well I'm no expert, but the top one looks to me like it could do with more diffused light - too many hard shadows on the background and soft shadow cast from the left. If you could manage to get a lot of (diffused) reflected daylight into the area, that might help pep things up.

The way the blanket edge comes down from the left and changes direction behind Harry's head is a bit distracting for me too - could you get the blanket to act as a back-drop and hide the wall?