princeclan

Suspended / Banned
Name
Matt
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi,

What am i doing wrong?

Went to an airfield today and took loads of photos of aircraft. SOme stationary , some taking off. Got back and all but 1 or 2 are very soft and slightly out of focus. Noticed my af was set to AF-S. Is that why?

Can you post a pic with Exif data so we can have a look? I'm no expert but its the first thing one would ask so i'll save you a bit of time!

Can you post a couple of examples, as they say a picture paints a thousand words. and if possible post the exif data aswell.

Just uploading them and then will post in the transport section. Will put the link on when its done (prob 10 mins as my pc is soo slow at the moment.

In fact will post here as i have a pic of my son too. (not transsport)

I have sharpened them a tad and upped tha saturation is cs4 but what do you think honestly?

Also included is the exif

Aircraft : Exif

Program : Aperture Priority
ISO : 100
Shutter Speed : 1/180
Optical Stabilization : ON
Aperture : F9.5
Focal Length : 160mm
Metering : Centre Weighted
White Balance : Auto

SG101348.jpg

My Son : Exif

Program : Aperture Priority
ISO : 100
Shutter Speed : 1/250
Aperture : F5.6
Focal Length : 300mm

SG101396.jpg

Honest opinions please

Honest opinions please

Well the jet isn't soft IMO and it looks like you caught the focus on yer lads cap rather than his eyes like :shrug:

EDIT > In terms of composition and the like, just a little flat, the shot of yer lad has some extraneous space above his head, which tells me, that you should get in closer and try to create a little more dynamics. (y)

Well the plane shot is too over-sharpened. Looking at your EXIF data, i'd say that your shutter speeds are still reasonably low - even with in body stablisation, taking into account the crop factor of your body, you'd still have the risk of shake at those sort of focal lengths.

Have you done any tests on the lens in question to asses its sharpness otherwise?