What do you think?

Name
Kris
Edit My Images
No
Hello all,

This is my first post here on talk photography, and I am seeking some advice...

I have always enjoyed photography and have usually been a professional "Point & Shoot'er", I have some experience of professional shoots also.

In recent years photos have received a fair amount of interest from colleagues, and now they are being used on the website, social media and training/course materials for a new client.

The client is relatively new within my industry; however, they already enjoy an international presence and have a clear Global development plan in place.

• Should I be invoicing for the use of my photos? (Images are taken while I am deployed for the client, and there are no specifics around "photo rights" and or/use within our contract)
  • Do you charge per photo used, or should I be done in batches, i.e. after each deployment?
  • Would you back date usage fees? 2021-2022?
  • or simply should I just be chuffed people like my photos and carry on pointing and shooting?

Thank you in advance!

KD

I guess the client is paying for other aspects of their business - website, mailserver, course materials, location rental if the training is in person and so on? If so, why should the images be supplied for free?

It seems like you're on the back foot as you've already made the images available, so you need to meet and reset and come to mutually agreeable terms going forward, possibly with a catch-up if your client is feeling generous. I would search on stock photo sites to get a guide on the pricing as that is your client's other main option to source images.

Is the client employing you to take pictures for them while deployed, or are you taking pictures in your own time with no expectation for them of photos?

Calling @DemiLion