What does it mean?

Name
Steven
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi guys,

I'm hopefully getting a new camera at Christmas time, and I want to learn everything that I need to know before I get the camera. What does a 18-55mm lens mean? What type of pictures would it be used for? What do all the settings do and mean?

Basically I want to read up about everything :LOL: Can anyone suggest some reading material? Or point me in the right direction?

Cheers,
Steven

Two decent books that I found helpful as a total beginner are:

The Digital Photography Handbook: Doug Harman

Digital Photographer's Handbook: Tom Ang

Enjoy.

or just type
Photography Basics
and not look like a complete geek :p

oops meant to quote mattyh at the start of that, cant be arsed now.

Wish I could get a new camera for chrimbo :(

I bought a hell of a lot of books on different techniques and things from ebay...if you like it and know what you're looking for then you cant go far wrong.
I also go the digital photographers handbook by Tom Ang for £10 from WHSmith! [Normally £25] So keep an eye out for Sales!

I bought a hell of a lot of books on different techniques and things from ebay...if you like it and know what you're looking for then you cant go far wrong.
I also go the digital photographers handbook by Tom Ang for £10 from WHSmith! [Normally £25] So keep an eye out for Sales!

So you don't need my 'Newbie' course then?

By far the best photography book that I have read is "Understanding Exposure" by Bryan Peterson. I have a copy and it is excellent. It's very well written with lots of examples and exercises. It's not expensive either.

Other than that, there are lots of web sites that might help you understand the area. These three are oriented towards Canon DSLRs, but the concepts in them are fairly generic:

* Enjoy! Digital SLR Camera - from Canon Japan, generic to Canon DSLRs, very easy
* Digital Rebel XT Lessons - from Canon USA, partly generic and partly specific to Canon 350D/XT