What Focus Point settings do I need?

Name
Will
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi guys

So I have a Canon 70D and a Sigma 18-35mm lens

Can I achieve this sort of image with my lens?

MOD EDIT : IMAGE REMOVED AS ITS NOT YOUR OWN.

Cannot find a direct link to the image, but it's image 9 of 42 on this link here...

Please try and respect other peoples copyright, as you'd wish people to respect yours.

https://www.elle.com/uk/fashion/cel...3/new-york-fashion-week-ss17-models-off-duty/

I can achieve Really nice portrait shots but when it comes to fill length body shots I struggle to get the model in focus

This is the mode I use for portraits

I don’t know when I would use this mode

And I would use this mode for the image I am trying to achieve of the model in focus full
Length?

Any help would be appreciated

Sorry I am new to photography

Last edited by a moderator:
Use single point focus point and place it wherever you want it to be in focus.

You’d only use multiple focus point on subjects that are movin around.

What focus point would I use if I wanted to take a photo of 3 people stood in a row?

What focus point would I use if I wanted to take a photo of 3 people stood in a row?

Are they all on the same focal plain? Do you want them all in focus? What aperture are you shooting at? What focal length are your shooting At? What is the distance between you and the subject?

Get yourself a depth of field calculator (Plenty of free ones around) and have a play.

What do you mean by 'in a row' i.e. all the same distance stood side by side or stood one behind the other in a staggered line?

If the former and surmising you are located about in line with middle person.................what Elliott @ecoleman says...............if they are as described but more spaced out then select a FP to be on one of them, matters not which one!

If the latter then focus on the middle person but make sure to use a small enough aperture to ensure all three are in focus! ;)