What fps for wedding video?

Name
Martin
Edit My Images
No
Hi everyone,
I'm a very experienced wedding photographer and just dipping my foot in the video arena to add this to one of the services I can provide at some point in the future.
The intention is to provide three free wedding videos to get the feel of things shooting video rather than stills.
I'm just curious to what is considered the defacto fps to shoot at? I'm the in UK where we are a 50hz nation but knowing this really isn't an issue anymore with modern day TV's. Computer monitors generally run at 60Hz and movies at 23.976 or 24. So, what would you shoot at?
My thoughts are to shoot at 24fps to keep a film style look and not so much 'home video'. I'm shooting with a Pansonic HC-X1. 2x D750's and a GoPro Hero 5.

Thanks

50hz is electricity 24 fps stems from when audio and video were first synced up. It was a nominal figure decided by two blokes.

24 or 30 will work well. 60 or 120 if you want any slow motion

I'm the in UK where we are a 50hz nation but knowing this really isn't an issue anymore with modern day TV's.

It's still a massive issue in video production.

50hz is electricity 24 fps stems from when audio and video were first synced up. It was a nominal figure decided by two blokes.

You need to match the frame rate to the electricity standard if there is any chance that there will be mains lighting anywhere near your shooting location. If you don't you'll get a 10Hz strobing effect of about 1/2 a stop. So in Europe, 25 or 50.

Film units use HMI lighting which is almost flicker free so they can use 24. (even then it's sped up for UK TV)

Last edited:
All the video s I produce are at 24fps. And have had no real problems .
As far as florescent light flicker, here's a technique originality suggested by Philip Bloom. https://www.premiumbeat.com/blog/quick-trick-for-de-flickering-your-video-shots/