What lens best for Safari ???

Name
Guy
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi guys and girls, im new to all this, but i have a very pressing questions to ask you and would appreciate your comments on the following.

Im of on safari in a month and have a Canon 400D but only with the regular 18-55 lens, im looking to buy a new lens and was thinking of the Canon 75-300MM USM III as i dont really want to spend over £150.

I would welcome any comments and alternative suggestions.
Thanks

Sigma 70-300 DG APO and get a beanbag like the Pod Red. The cheap zooms are not great over 200mm but the slow aperture should be Ok as the sun should be in your favour, at least before it gets too bright. The key is to keep the lens super steady. If you need more shutter speed then up the ISO.

If i were you i wouldn't even waste my time with the Sigma 70-300 (i have one, and i hate it). You're best off buying an L lens like the 400 f5.6 L, 100-400 IS L. Buy it for the trip and sell after if you can't really afford it and get something cheaper. It's not as though they lose any money :)

Which version of the 70-300 have you got and, don't want to rude but I have to ask, do you have much experience using longer lenses and do you use a tripod or monopod with it? I also think it is an urban myth that L lenses don't lose any money. I have bought and sold at least 12 of them so i have some idea and I am pretty canny when it comes to buying and selling. Do you have any experience of buying and selling them?

I dont have the 70-300 yet im looking at getting either the sigma 70-300 or the canon 75-300.

300mm is not long enough for a Safari. I used my 70-200mm with a 1.7TC so that was 340mm and I struggled quite a bit. To be honest I think you need 500mm.