what lens to use??

Name
alan
Edit My Images
No
im taking my nikon d50 to a race meeting in the next couple of weeks and was wondering what lens would be best as i havent a clue ive got a 18-70mm at moment but been looking at 55-200mm and 70-300mm lenses today what would you guys reccomend im only using the auto settings at the moment as im a complete novice at the moment.

thanks for any help its much appreciated

70-300 will be better due to the zoom and if it is a VR lens.

id pick the 300mm lens.you may need to switch to shutter"s" mode as auto might not keep up with the speed of the object your shooting.

I would agree with the other two guys, 70-300 is a great second lens to go with the one that came with your camera. I had a few cheapo 70-210ish lens (by cheap I mean £40-50) and then bought what to me at that time was an expensive lens in the tamron 70-300 macro. It was a great lens and I'd recommend trying to get one. Second hand you should be able to get for £70-80.

You mentioned the 55-200. I would advise staying away from this range; either go for wide-normal angle lens that go up to about 50/70mm or for telezooms that go from 70mm upwards. If you get a good deal on a 70-300, stand any extra pocket money on a 50mm f1.8. As a newbie there's nothing anyone can say to explain why, you just need to get one and try using it at the wider apertures (smaller f numbers).

I'm going to disagree with the above posters, if the choice is between the 55-200 VR and the 70-300 VR and the latter is within budget then fine, get that. However if it's between a Nikon 55-200 VR and one of the cheap Sigma or Tamron (or even the non-VR Nikon) 70-300mm lenses then get the 55-200mm as it's far, far better than any of those.

ive only looked at the nikon lenses so far anyone reccomend somewhere to buy one as ive only been looking on ebay so far and what sort of prices i should expect to pay