What size octabox do you use for headshots

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi,

I've been using a 120cm octabox for some headshots and wondering if i'd be better with an 80cm version. The light is very soft using such a large source for just head and shoulders.

Thinking of trying an 80cm to give a bit more shadow, is my theory correct or can i work this by moving the 120cm further away.

It's an area i'm fairly new to so looking for tips on good practice etc.

Cheers,
Mike.

What Mike said.
No need to buy anything more, unless you really want to

As above.
If you move it twice as far away then the effective size will reduce to a quarter.
The only downside to this is that you may not always have enough ceiling height.

What do you mean by "more shadow?"
Contrast in an image has two parts... falloff (how dark shadows are) and hardness (how defined/hard edged shadows are); and distance affects them oppositely. Getting an exact balance with only one light source can be difficult... a grid can be helpful.

Unless the intent is for a starker "high fashion" type image, or to bring out a specific detail (i.e. texture), I think what you probably are wanting is a higher rate of falloff. For that you need to move your light source much closer and reduce the power accordingly. That way the light doesn't travel as far and the shadows drop more quickly/darker. Then just feather/flag the source so that the light only falls where you want it.

Last edited:
What do you mean by "more shadow?"
Contrast in an image has two parts... falloff (how dark shadows are) and hardness (how defined/hard edged shadows are); and distance affects them oppositely. Getting an exact balance with only one light source can be difficult... a grid can be helpful.