Beginner What sort of light arrangement is used in this photograph?

Edit My Images
Yes
This photo has been taken with a Nikon D40. Information from exif:

http://www.ringlovers.com/UV/UV-532-1.jpg

F-stop f/5.6
Exposure time 1/500 sec
ISO speed ISO-200
Exposure bias +0.3 step
Focal length 55 mm
Max aperture 5
Metering mode Pattern
Flash mode Flash,auto,strobe return
35mm focal length 82

I can see 6 bulbs - 3 on either side - in the reflection. Does anyone know more about this arrangement? Are the bulbs always on or do they work as a flash?
Is a separate flash also in use here, along with the bulbs?

Staff Edit: Please do not post pictures that are not yours, instead provide a link to its original location. Thankyou

Last edited:
I'm no lighting expert but they look like energy efficient light bulbs to me and then direct flash in the middle.

Not really the optimum lighting solution for product photography really...

edit: in fact with my monitor brightness turned up you can see they are some sort of Angle-poise lamps.

Last edited:
I'm no lighting expert but they look like energy efficient light bulbs to me and then direct flash in the middle.

Not really the optimum lighting solution for product photography really...

edit: in fact with my monitor brightness turned up you can see they are some sort of Angle-poise lamps.
What Ned said.
Frankly it's awful.
Lighting an object should enhance it, to show it's properties.

The central gem has become a reflector for a bunch badly positioned lights.

Ask yourself; do you want the object to be the subject or some random blobs of light?

Just a quick question of ethics if you don't mind? Can I assume this not your image ? If not do you have permission to use it and publish it here ?

If the answer is no then you shouldn't be publishing it here unless it is a copywrite free image.