What to ask for when i turn 50

Name
Tom
Edit My Images
No
I turn 50 later this year and i'd like to ask the family to get me a body and lens.

My thoughts are for a nikon d7100 as it's a proven good 'un, lens wise not so sure.

I'm just a hobbyist and although i'm a birder,i find trying to 'reach' birds and getting a good shot difficult, so i'm thinking of a good mid range zoom.

I have a d3200 atm and have just came up from bridge.

Reckon on budget of £1k tops.

Can i have your thoughts an opinions please?

Last edited:
Seem to be plenty around £500 used?

oops, see what you mean, maybe it's 80 i'm turning, lol

Last edited:
Seem to be plenty around £500 used?

Which is a whole £499 more than £1 :D

It's a bit difficult to make recommendations without knowing your intentions for the kit. If you want to do birding then you'd be wanting to spend the majority of your budget (presumably £1k not £1) on a lens and use your current body. If it were for general shooting then you'd be looking at something different.

If you want to do birding then you'd be wanting to spend the majority of your budget (presumably £1k not £1) on a lens and use your current body.

This QFT ^

Bodies come and go, lenses, like taxes, are forever.

Oh the aches and pains have been here for a time already.

I quite like landscape shots and portraits (in that they're easier to get a satisfactory sharp image) and i'd like to get some good candid images of when me and the guys and ladies get together at bushcraft meets.

I've been up and down the ladder of expensive optics and camping gear and don't want to do the same with my photography hobby as i know that the most expensive and new doesn't equate to satisfaction in the end.