What to do?

lawrie29

Balloons! Yay!
Name
Lawrie
Edit My Images
Yes
I have posted on here about a new camera, mainly for doing a wedding.

I have £220 ish to spend, and was looking at a new fuji s9600 bridge, with case cards etc, as it will be straightforward to use, as I have no real experience. However, after spending more time on here, am toying with a used dslr.

MPB photographic are showing a used Eos 10d at £179, and a Eos D30 for £119. Or a 300d for £154. These come as body only, so then I need a lens ot two.

A Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 II is £29 so that would give me a kit for £150/£185/£210.

A Nikon D40 is £189 whilst the D70 is £184. The cheapest Nikon lens they have is a Nikon AF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED DX which is £119, although I would imagine I could find something cheaper. If I could find a lens for £40 (is that possible) the Nikon would be a similar price to the 10d.

Any comments, which is better? WOuld I be better just to get the bridge, bearing in mind my experience?

Is there another option to look at? Would a used Sony be any good? Any cheaper.

All opinions considered,

Thanks,

Lawrie

For about £25.00 more than your budget I managed to get hold of a brand new Sony A200 with kit lens.
I've had bridge cameras before (Panasonic and Canon) and the Sony knocks them into a cocked hat with regards picture quality and versatility.
The only downside about DSLR ownership is that they are rather bulky when compared to a compact, but on the basis that a bridge camera is also just as bulky this negative flies out of the window.
I'd be looking at a DLSR of some description personally.
Rob

I have posted on here about a new camera, mainly for doing a wedding....I have no real experience.

Errrm...you're just a guest right? :thinking:

I'd think about getting a 50mm 1.8 lens as it'll be miles better in terms of sharpness and low light than the kit lens.

You may be making the best decision