What would you do to this photo

Edit My Images
Yes
A while ago I went for an outing and took a few snaps, only just got my film developed.

With this particular photo I wish it had been color but I only had b and w loaded...so made do.

Onto editing, I am stumpted. It needs a little something, but what?

CNV00011 (1)
by Kabooi, on Flickr

I put it into Lightroom - the file you posted is a little small for doing much to it, but I think it was improved by cropping it to something like this for a start

View attachment 1288

I think that the trees at the edges were distracting, and the sky/reflection a little too dominating. This crop also puts the main tree off to a thirds intersection.

Thanks very much for all your help,im pretty new to lightroom! I think the thing that is bothering me is that sky. it's boring and flat (it was at the time) but I do like the fact the tree is centrel, it was the look I was going for :D

I just dont know what to do about that damn sky.

You can dodge/burn the sky to add some detail/interest, but you're pretty much committing yourself to also dodge/burning the reflection to match, which would be . . . tricky :D

You could try adding a graduated filter from top to bottom, and then another from bottom to top to match, though - much easier. Something like this (I also split-toned it, just to see if it helped the bright sky)

View attachment 1289

(the Flickr image itself is "private" to me, so I had to use the small version hotlinked here)

You can dodge/burn the sky to add some detail/interest, but you're pretty much committing yourself to also dodge/burning the reflection to match, which would be . . . tricky :D

You could try adding a graduated filter from top to bottom, and then another from bottom to top to match, though - much easier. Something like this (I also split-toned it, just to see if it helped the bright sky)

View attachment 1289