Whats currently the best bang for buck wide(ish) angle for Nikon (FX)

Name
John
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi,

Every now and again I want to take a wide angle shot - some landscape, some close for distortion but as I'm pretty new to Nikon I'm not sure which to go for.

I'm not really looking for serious fisheye and would like an AF zoom, maybe the 18-x sort of thing, something a bit wider than the 24-120 I have.

What would you guys suggest - well that doesn''t break the bank?

Cheers for looking.

Or the Samyang 14mm f2.8 is a good shout for some UWA fun.

There is also the Sigma 12-24 (???) which is one of the widest if not the widest normal UWA for Nik FX.

Or the Sigma 15-30...

:D

lol, so...

Well, I don't think I'll go with the Samyang - I've had a couple of while great the MF is a pain for me.

Theres the Sigma 12-24mm f/4.5-5.6 DG HSM II (Nikon Fit) Lens (link) at £550ish

I can't find the 15-30..

Or the Nikon 18-35 - is that the older D or the new G (link)?

Hell, thats a fair few :)

Don't be be too discouraged by the manual focus Samyang, set the aperture to 5.6 or smaller, focus to 1m, and everything from 0.5m to infinity will be in focus. It's a great lens, but it is exceedingly wide on a full frame sensor.

I had one on the Canon, and again on the MFT - maybe I didn't give it enough of a chance, but I agree it certainly is wide.

Proof - please excuse the use of spot colour !! :)

Playing with the Samyang 14mm
by John Norton, on Flickr

Last edited:
18-35mm assuming you don't need a fast lens, it's very sharp and detailed.

I'm getting a 18-35G vibe ;)

I am (yet again) thinking about the Samyang 14mm, but I think it may not be versatile enough... but then I've seen some pretty good shots with it too...

18-35G, no question. You'd need to spend a lot more to get faster or wider, and marginal IQ gains if any.