where am I going wrong?!

Name
Liz
Edit My Images
Yes
why are all of my shots slightly out of focus? I am using the Canon 50 1.8 and just cant get it right. I like photos that are light/almost slightly blown - I know this isn't nessessarily a 'correct' style of photo but its what I quite like. But I just cant get them pin sharp. What can I do to help?

I can afford to buy a new lens but I think its probably my lack of knowledge/skill that is the issue rather than the lens? Please help!!

In principle I like this photo, its just not very sharp.

Please be gentle I am only a beginner!View attachment 11063

Are you shooting at f1.8 or another wide aperture? The portion of your subject that will be in focus is pretty thin, especially if they are not square on to you.

What are you shooting at Liz? What camera settings are you using? I have to be honest, from here, these don't look too bad at all...

Yeah, dont get me wrong Liz, I think youve got the important bits in focus (eyes), but the focus drops off the further back you look.

She a little cutie too :)

Nothing much wrong with these sharpness wise as far as I can see. Shallow depth of field, which most people aim for with portraits anyway, but the traditionally "important" parts for a portrait (eyes mainly) look good.

Why do you think they're not sharp?

Without seeing any exif data I will hazard a guess that you have shot the images wide open af F1.8
The fall off in the DOF is so narrow that even the slightest movement can move your focus point to somewhere you didn't intend it to be. With portraits it is natural to focus on the eyes, at F1.8 you need to be extremely precise.

The canon 50 F1.8 is also sharper when stopped down. I reckon you should try it again at say F2.8 and see if there is a vast improvement.

Like I say this is all submising until the data is revealed

first one is f2.2, 1/80, ISO 400
second one is f4.5, 1/50, ISO 400