Where and how to photograph motorsports

Name
Carl
Edit My Images
No
Hello all

I would love to have a go at photographing some motorsports so would appreciate some advice from your kind selves.

Firstly, I live in Bolton, where is there within a reasonable (<1hr) travelling distance that I could visit?

Secondly, how does it all work? Can you just turn up and find yourself a spot to tog from or are there passes you need to get, from where, how much etc etc?

Yes, I am completely new to this and probably sounding very green but just looking at some of your shots makes me really want to get out there and try it for myself.

get yourself a motorsport news and have a look for local events in your area, if you go to a rally it is just a fee to pay for parking (normally about £5) and then go take a walk up or down the stage and stop where ever you like. (y)

Oulton Park is 'relatively' close to you. I know that bike track days are free to get into, you don't need to be riding or know anyone that is. You can then get access to the track to take photos and wander around the pits.

Riders will generally be more than happy to talk to you especially if you offer to send them some pics!

A good opportunity for some practice.

Three Sisters at Wigan is a nice little circuit some Kart racing and bike racing and £5 to get in

Mark 250 - Thanks for the motorsport news and Oulton Park suggestions I will look into it

ninjafox - Thanks to you too, that's exactly what I'm looking for and need (practice), the opportunity to get into the pits would be excellent.

Smurf - Had quite a busy weekend so only just picked up this message about the event on Sunday, I'm gutted I missed it but thanks for the link I'll keep my eye on it for future events.

Wack61 - Will take a look

Thanks to all for taking time to reply, looks like I'll be paying these places a visit in the next couple of weeks and come away no doubt wanting some faster glass!!