Where next from Bowens kit?

Edit My Images
No
Hi there - first post here, been taking pictures for a while :)

Anyhow, I love tinkering with portrait lighting and have built up quite a bit of portable strobist stuff over the years, pretty much all Bowens kit with the bigger Pentax/Metz flashes and the odd piece of (workmanlike) Calumet hardware when Bowens were a bit pricey

Bowens stuff seems really nicely put together (esp their umbrellas) so I have pretty much ignored all the other brands. But with the brand now dissappearing I am looking at other kit - but not being a pro I dont get much chance to compare kit side by side or chat with peers

Westcott, Interfit, Lastolite all seem to be in this space and all seem to have their fans and detractors

Currently in the market for a reflective umbrella or two, but have yet to find a back to back comparison of these. Going forwards I suspect light modifers will be my primary focus as there isnt anythiong else I really need

I always consider brollies to be an ongoin expense rather than an asset.

There's really no discernible difference in the light output between brands, which leaves build quality, and frankly brollies are (to an extent) fragile. They all fail at some point, so I would never buy a 'premium' brand, it's just a future expensive piece of junk. I wouldn't buy a £5 one but there's no difference between a £10 PhotR or a £60 Profoto.

Other more complex modifiers are a slightly different kettle of fish, I'd recommend Lencarta, but there are other respectable brands without paying through the nose.

I always consider brollies to be an ongoin expense rather than an asset.