Which camera is right ?

Name
craig hannan
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all, im fairly new to photography, got involved through work really and became interested in macro photography, my problem is i need a camera that is good enoigh for macro (for relaxing) and also good enough for taking shots of the products that i sell (for work) which are mainly pieces of body jewellery (quite small) and i need to get really close up and very clear shots to show the detail and correct colours in gemstones and other tiny pieces of body jewellery, i also need to be able to take sots of modelled piercings, so headshots, shots of ears, nose, lips, eyebrows, belly buttons etc. I just bought an olympus tough tg-6 which seems pretty good for the macro element but can anyone recommend a really good camera and lens if needed for the type of shots i need to get as there are so many options around i am totally stumped and i already wasted around £800 on cameras that dont really do what i am looking for, thanks for any advice.

Getting close up and clear shots of small things often requires very good light, so if you don't have that, it's probably worth setting aside some of your budget for that too. If you're reliant on natural light, this might result in longer shutter speeds, so a tripod may also be useful to steady your camera for longer shutter speeds.

With detachable lens systems, the camera is less important and the lens probably more important. It might be worth considering a second hand body for example, and spending the savings on a decent macro lens.