Which film and where to develop

Name
Jill
Edit My Images
Yes
Thanks to the help here I am now the owner if a Pentax mx which is currently away having the CLA done.
As I am a novice to film photography which film would be a good starting point and then what film to progress to for greater quality I mainly shoot portraits. Also do you guy send it off to be developed and where do you recommend
Thanks again

Which film? Depends on any number of things, what you want from it, what you prefer... so the best thing to do is to buy a bunch then decide what you want to keep using. Although one of the main choices you can make is Black and White or Colour. Black and White is always a good starting place since you can quite easily develop it yourself, you can develop colour film too but it's a bit more involved. Of course, with colour film what a lot of people do is just use whatever PoundLand has in stock, which saves a bit on money but works out a lot more expensive than black and white, pound for pound, when you consider developing costs.

As above, is it black and white or colour that interests you want?

With black and white there are a whole multitude of films that can be used for portraits depending on whether you want a grainy, contrasty effect or the opposite for example. I would have a go with some Ilford FP4+ which is a general purpose 125 speed film and very tolerant with quite fine grain; and some Ilford HP5+ or Kodak TriX 400 both of which are 400 speed and also very tolerant but more grainy. With black and white film, experiment with different films until you find what you like. Try looking around the black and white section of AG Photographic, who sell nearly every black and white film known:

http://www.ag-photographic.co.uk/black--white-film-1-c.asp