Beginner Which mirrorless to go for? Fuji X-T1 or Olympus OM-D E-M5 Mark II

Which Camera?

• Total voters
Name
My name is Nigel, Dangrous is my middle name.
Edit My Images
No
I know I have put this in the beginners section, in truth, I feel like I am.
I have no working experience with Fuji or Olympus so I'm coming in at this on the ground floor.
Ok, a bit of background... I shoot a Canon 1Ds MkIII. I love it, it's staying but I now want a smaller option for holidays and just out and about.
The last holiday I lugged my body and lenses about everywhere like Sherpa Tenzing whilst my girl swanned about with her Canon G15.

I appreciate the difference... I do! But I also appreciate that she got some decent shots as well. Certainly good enough!

This got me thinking... is there an alternative to my leviathan that will give me a decent image?

I'm not looking at printing to a particularly large scale, but I want a decent camera that will produce a high quality image.

Now, I have to say at this point, I have not been keeping up with current trends, I got my canon, my lenses then stopped paying attention. I do not intend to change it until it can't be fixed any more. Not that it has needed fixing.

So I jump into what is vogue and trawl YouTube... love DigitalRev and the Camera Store TV guys.

The point I’m taking so long to make is I'm looking for a lighter camera, it doesn't have to fit in my pocket, I'll be happy with it hanging off a strap or in a bag, it just doesn't want to be commanding the whole bag and half of the pack horse.

I started by looking at the Fuji X100T, I like the idea of the 23mm fixed lens, testing after the Canon. but I’m thinking that could be a regret down the line. Tell me if I’m wrong.

So, I have narrowed it down to two, the Fuji X-T1 and the Olympus OM-D E-M5 Mark II.

They appear similar with gimmicks to suit and both seem to produce quality images.