Which Photoshop programme?

Name
Matt Wright
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi, I am fairly new to photogrpahy, i purchased a 450d a few months ago and have been looking into the possibility of buying a photoshop programme.

Through reading severall magazines the most common programmes seem to be Elements and CS3.

What are the main differences between the two?

Looking at the price, the obvious one for me to choose would be the elements, but as i am a student (for 1 more year) i can purchase CS3 for around £125.

On that note, does anyone now how long the licence lasts on student copies?

thank in advanced, and sorry if this topic has been looked at numerous times before!

Matt

I've used both and without going into all the nitty gritties - it boils down to CS3 has much more bells and whistles (it's a professional piece of software) than Elements at usually a grossly inflated price. However if you can get it for £125 it should be worth the extra.

That being said - you should also consider Lightroom, also by Adobe and in my view far easier to learn and use and more effective in loads of ways.

So is there anything that is in Elements that is not in CS3?

Where does Lightroom fit in, I mean is it a software desgined to bridge the gap between the two, or is it a completly different idea?

I can't answer with 100% certainty - but almsot certainly not. Elements is CS3 "Lite".

Where does Lightroom fit in, I mean is it a software desgined to bridge the gap between the two, or is it a completly different idea?