Which Redsnapper tripod?

Edit My Images
No
Hi

I am really torn between the 283 and the 284 tripods and just can't make my mind up about which to get. I know the 284 is more compact and goes lower than the 283 with around 10cm less max height but as i'm new to photography i don't know what my needs are so well yet.

The ability to get down lower on the 284 is more appealing to me than the extra height of the 283 because i'm only 5"8 and the 284 with the head and camera ontop will be too tall for me to see through the viewfinder! (i've got stickies on my wall to prove it). Does anybody ever use their tripod above head height?

also, is the minimum height of the 284 more useful in your opinion? or is it irrelevant due to the reversibility of the centre mount of both models?

Probably the main reason i'm holding off buying the 284 at the moment is the number of leg sections - 4. Does anyone find unfolding 4 leg sections every time a PITA?

Just to help you answer i'm into landscape photography and so far the £10 tripod i bought off ebay has been used on steep windy hillsides and in rocky streams. macro is something i'd like to try but not as important.

I am surprised you didn't get an answer, but I guess everyone is either on hols, or enjoying taking shots in the sun!
I believe that there is a chap on here, Joe? who works for redsnapper. I am sure he will answer if he sees the thread.
I believe what he has said before though on the differences, was that the 284 was not quite as stable as the 283 in theory, because of the extra leg-piece, however he had not seen any issues with stability (hence the in theory). I don't think that having 4 legs is going to make much difference in extending time etc. For landscapes, they hardly tend to run away.
I have a cheapo £10 tripod too, and must really upgrade at some point.
Often I don't extend more than 1 leg each side, not because it is a pain, but because I don't need that extra height.